Question: How Do You Delete All Archived Emails On IPhone?

How do I delete unread emails on my iPhone?

Tap the “Mail” icon on the iPhone’s Home screen to launch the Mail app.

Swipe the unread message to the left in the inbox, and then tap the “Trash” button to delete it..

How long do emails stay in archive?

Until you decide to delete those emails. Note, though, that even after an email is deleted “forever,” either by you or automatically by Gmail from your spam or trash folders, the messages could remain on Google’s servers for up to 60 days.

How do I change from archive to delete on iPhone email?

On iOS, head to Settings > Mail, Contacts, Calendars and select one of the email accounts you have set up in Mail. Next, go to Account > Advanced and in the Move Discarded Messages Into area, select either Deleted Mailbox or Archive Mailbox.

What is the point of archiving emails?

The point of archiving is to give you a central location to store mails that you no longer need direct access to. It also ensures your inbox is kept clean and attachments and other files are kept safe.

Do archived emails get deleted?

The Archive action removes the message from view in the inbox and puts it in the All Mail area, in case you ever need it again. You can find archived messages by using Gmail’s search function. … The Delete action moves the selected message to the Trash area, where it stays for 30 days before it is permanently deleted.

Should I archive or delete emails?

Well, most people Delete their emails to free up space. When you decide to delete an email, it is sent to a trash folder. … It is better to archive your emails on Gmail, because you can place it in a folder where it will still exist but no longer be cluttering in your inbox.

How long do emails stay in archive on iPhone?

Archive vs. You’ve got two options for getting rid of email messages: archive or trash. The former adds deleted messages to the All Mail folder where they will remain, while the latter moves them to the Trash folder, where they will remain for 30 days before being permanently deleted.

How do I delete all archived emails?

See the archive icon when you view messages. Archive from interactive notifications (Android 4.1+). See the delete icon when you view messages….In the Gmail app, touch the. Gmail icon.Select Trash.Touch the Menu icon, then Empty Trash.

Can you delete all your emails at once on iPhone?

Tap the inbox you’d like to relieve of its unread count. Tap Edit. Tap Trash All (or its less-fun cousin, Mark All). Tap the Trash All/Archive All confirmation alert (or, if you’re Marking All, tap Mark as Unread).

What happens if I delete archived emails?

The Archive action removes the message from view in the inbox and puts it in the All Mail area, in case you ever need it again. … The Delete action moves the selected message to the Trash area, where it stays for 30 days before it is permanently deleted.

Why does my iPhone archive instead of delete?

Go to Settings -> Mail, Contacts, Calendars and tap your Gmail account. Tap Account -> Advanced to bring up more options. Tap ‘Deleted Mailbox’ under the heading, Move discarded messages into; you’ll see that the default option is ‘Archive Mailbox’. Tap Account and then Done to confirm the changes.

Where do emails go when you archive them?

In the Gmail app for iPhone, iPad, or Android, tap the Archive button in the top menu that appears. The Archive button has the same design as the button shown on the Gmail website. Any email you archive will disappear from your main Gmail inbox, including from any of the focused categories you might have.

How do I mass delete emails on my iPhone?

Delete multiple email messagesOpen Mail and go to your Inbox.Tap Edit in the upper-right corner, then tap Select All. Or individually select the emails that you want to delete.Tap Trash or Archive. If you only see Archive, touch and hold Archive to see other options like Trash Selected Messages.

How do you change from archive to delete on iPhone?

Archive instead of deleteGo to Settings > Passwords & Accounts.Tap your email account, tap Mail (below Advanced), then tap Advanced.In the Advanced settings, change the destination mailbox for discarded emails to Archive Mailbox.

What happens to emails when you archive them?

When you archive a message in Gmail, it disappears from your inbox and moves to All Mail. … Archiving a message means you are just removing it from the site of your Inbox, it is still in your Gmail in All Mail. This means that the archived message will ping back into your Inbox when someone replies to it.

How do I change from archive to delete?

Choose your archive or delete settingsOn your Android phone or tablet, open the Gmail app .In the top left, tap Menu .Tap Settings General settings. Gmail default action.Tap Archive or Delete. … Scroll down to the “Action confirmations” section and choose if you want confirmation before archiving or deleting messages.

How do you delete archived Gmail on iPhone?

How to set Gmail to delete instead of archive in Mail on iPhone and iPadOpen Settings.Swipe down and tap Passwords & Accounts.Tap your Gmail account.Select Account.Tap Advanced.Now below Move Discarded Messages Into: tap Deleted Mailbox.

How do I delete thousands of emails from my iPhone?

StepsOpen the iOS Mail on the iPhone or iPad and go to the Inbox folder.Tap on the Edit Button on the top right and select the first email in your list.Then hold down the Move button.While you are still holding the Move Button, deselect the first email.Remove your fingers from the screen and wait a few seconds.More items…•